# Motion to Voluntarily Dismiss This supplement includes a forms guide as well as forms. The forms guide is for use only in filling out the forms. For more information about what these forms mean or are used for, consult the appropriate Self Help packet. © Board of Trustees, Southern Illinois University

## **FORMS GUIDE**

### **ALL FORMS:**

At the top of each form is the "caption". It is completed as follows:

## STATE OF ILLINOIS

# IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE (number of circuit) JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

# (name of county) COUNTY

	)
(your name)	
Plaintiff,	)
and	) No. (get from Clerk at the time you file)
(your spouse's name)	)
Defendant.	)

Determine the number of the "Circuit" according to the chart on the next page. If your county does not appear in the chart, call the Circuit Clerk in the county in which you will be filing your case and ask for the number of the Circuit.

### **Circuit Courts in Illinois**

Cook County is its own judicial circuit. The rest of the counties in Illinois fall into one of 22 circuits.

First Circuit - The counties of Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, Pope, Johnson, Union, Jackson, Williamson

and Saline.

Second Circuit - The counties of Hardin, Gallatin, White, Hamilton, Franklin, Wabash, Edwards, Wayne,

Jefferson, Richland, Lawrence and Crawford.

Third Circuit - The counties of Madison and Bond.

Fourth Circuit - The counties of Clinton, Marion, Clay, Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Montgomery, Shelby

and Christian.

Fifth Circuit - The counties of Vermilion, Edgar, Clark, Cumberland and Coles.

Sixth Circuit - The counties of Champaign, Douglas, Moultrie, Macon, DeWitt and Piatt.

Seventh Circuit - The counties of Sangamon, Macoupin, Morgan, Scott, Greene and Jersey.

Eighth Circuit - The counties of Adams, Schuyler, Mason, Cass, Brown, Pike, Calhoun and Menard.

Ninth Circuit - The counties of Knox, Warren, Henderson, Hancock, McDonough and Fulton.

Tenth Circuit - The counties of Peoria, Marshall, Putnam, Stark and Tazewell.

Eleventh Circuit - The counties of McLean, Livingston, Logan, Ford and Woodford.

Twelfth Circuit - The county of Will.

Thirteenth Circuit- The counties of Bureau, LaSalle and Grundy.

Fourteenth Circuit - The counties of Rock Island, Mercer, Whiteside and Henry.

Fifteenth Circuit - The counties of JoDaviess, Stephenson, Carroll, Ogle and Lee.

Sixteenth Circuit - The counties of Kane, DeKalb and Kendall.

Seventeenth Circuit - The counties of Winnebago and Boone.

Eighteenth Circuit - The county of DuPage.

Nineteenth Circuit - The county of Lake

Twentieth Circuit - The counties of Randolph, Monroe, St. Clair, Washington and Perry.

Twenty-first Circuit - The counties of Iroquois and Kankakee.

Twenty-second Circuit- The County of McHenry

# **Instructions for Individual Forms**

Form: Motion to Voluntarily Dismiss

Introduction: Your name.

- 1. List whether you are the plaintiff or defendant.
- 2. List the date that you filed the petition and for what reason you filed it (ex: Dissolution of Marriage).
- 3. State in complete sentences the reason(s) you do not wish to proceed with the Petition.
- 4. Check whether or not the hearing has begun.

Date and sign the Motion.

# STATE OF ILLINOIS

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE	JUDICIAL CIRCUIT	
	COUNTY	
Plaintiff, )  vs. )  Defendant. )	No	
Motion to Voluntarily Dismi	ss Petition or Motion	
, on o	oath states that:	
1. I am the in the action		
2. That on, I filed a Petition/Mo	tion to:	
3. That I no longer wish to proceed with the Petitio reasons:	n/Motion that I have filed for the following	
4. That hearing or trial on my Petition/Motion has_hearing has begun, I will have to pay the costs as	~	
5. I have attached an Affidavit in support of this M this request.	otion which explains the facts which support	

6. That neither party will be prejudiced by the granting of this Motion.

Wherefore, I request that the Court dismiss my Petition/Motion without prejudice.		
Data	Signatura	
Date	Signature	