RANDOLPH COUNTY COMMISSIONERS MEETING AGENDA 6:00 P.M. –August 3, 2015

- I. Call to Order—Chairman Frye
- **II. Pledge of Allegiance**—Boy Scout Troop 525
- III. Special Recognitions—Governor's Volunteer Awards—*Chairman Frye & Elizabeth Mitchell* 2015 Governor's Award for Volunteer Service Recipients: Bob Cox, Vickie Gallimore, Thomas Herbert, Toni Marley, Julie Moore, Milton Piedra and Lucy Rice.
- IV. Public Comment Period (Pursuant to N.C.G.S. § 153A-52.1)

V. Consent Agenda

- A. Approve Board of Commissioners Regular Meeting Minutes of 7/6/15
- B. Approve Budget Amendment for Encumbrance Carryforwards
- C. Reappoint Bob McDuffie to the Piedmont Triad Regional Water Authority
- D. Declare Sheriff's Office Canine ("Rocky") as Surplus Property (having no monetary value) and Grant Permission for Handler to Adopt Canine
- E. Approve Budget Amendment for Cooperative Extension (4-H/FFA Livestock Show Program)
- F. Approve Budget Amendment for Animal Shelter Capital Project Fund (\$179,170)
- G. Reappoint Mazie Fleetwood, Leanne Henkel, and David Allen to the Sandhills Center Board of Directors
- H. Reappoint Jodi Allred to the Randolph County Juvenile Crime Prevention Council
- I. Approve Budget Amendment for Public Health (BT/BCCCP \$40,545)
- J. Appoint Richard Wells to fulfill the unexpired term of J. Harold Holmes (resigned) on the Library Board of Trustees

VI. New Business

- A. Annual Report of the Historic Landmark Preservation Commission—*Mac Whatley*
- B. Tax Department Software Matters—Michael Rowland / Debra Hill
 - 1. Request to Approve Bid for Tax Appraisal / Land Records Software Conversion Package and Approve Associated Budget Amendment
 - 2. Request to Approve Bid for Register of Deeds / Tax Integration Software
- C. Approve Contracts to Conduct Fire Inspections for Ramseur and Franklinville—*Erik Beard/Aimee Scotton*
- D. **7:00 p.m. Rezoning Public Hearing**—Jay Dale
 - 1. **HENRY L DELK**, Asheboro, NC, is requesting that 9.41 acres located on the corner of Old NC Hwy 49 and McDaniel Rd, Cedar Grove Township, be rezoned from *RA/RR* to *CVOE-CD*. Tax ID# 7730004959. Secondary Growth Area. The proposed Conditional Zoning District would specifically allow a 5 lot residential subdivision for site built or conventional modular homes with a minimum house size of 1,200 sq. ft. as per site plan. The Planning Board reviewed this request at a public meeting on July 7, 2015, and recommended that this request be denied.
 - 2. **HENRY L DELK**, Asheboro, NC, is requesting that 5.85 acres (out of 44.73 acres) located at the corner of Mechanic Rd and Lassiter Mill Rd, Concord Township, be rezoned from *RA* to *CVOE-CD*. Tax ID# 7629012488. Secondary Growth Area. The proposed Conditional Zoning District would specifically allow a 6 lot residential subdivision for site built or conventional modular homes with a minimum house size of 1,200 sq. ft. as per site plan. The Planning

Board reviewed this request at a public meeting on July 7, 2015, and recommended that this request be denied.

- E. Ordinance Requests
 - 1. Repeal Current Animal Control Ordinance and Approve New Animal Control Ordinance to Include the Addition of Tethering—*Mimi Cooper*
 - 2. Amend Pawnbroker's License Ordinance to Reflect Changes in the References to the Statutory Authority for the Ordinance —*Aimee Scotton*
- F. Approve Budget Amendment to Transfer \$2,200,000 of Fund Balance from the General Fund to the Site Development Capital Project Fund and Budget Amendment #3 to the Site Development Capital Project Fund—*Will Massie*
- G. Regional Update—Chairman Frye

Upcoming Board Term Expirations

October: Randolph County Public Facilities Corporation – Will Massie, Suzanne Dale, and Amanda Varner; <u>Tourism Development Authority</u> – Rebecca Petty Moffitt, Stacy Senters, and Ross Holt

November: Randolph County Local Emergency Planning Committee — Col. Fred Rutledge, J.R. Beard, Evan Grady, Sherry Farster, Annette Jordan, and Brett Houser; Randolph County EMS Peer Review Committee — Dr. Robert Dough, Fred deFriess, Dr. Jason Stopyra, Paula Lineberry, Sandy Smith, Donovan Davis, Lewis Schirloff, Bradley Beck, Raphael Beech, Benny Lopienski, Steven Staley, Brett Powell, Amanda Varner, Cynthia Grantham, Angela Orth, Angel Cartagena, and Jason Phillips; Randolph County Child Fatality Review/Community Child Protection Team — Myra Gaddy