

### 16<sup>th</sup> Annual Marsha Martin Scholarship Program Guidelines (2016)



Texas Farm Credit Services established an agricultural scholarship program in honor of Marsha Pyle Martin, a Paris, Texas native, who served as chairman and Chief Executive Officer of the

Farm Credit Administration (FCA), an independent federal agency responsible for regulation and examination of the Farm Credit System - a network of farmer-owned cooperative financial institutions, until her death from cancer in January 2000. Martin, appointed to a six-year term by President Clinton in 1994, was the first woman to serve as chairman in the 65-year history of the FCA. Martin was also the first woman senior executive in the Farm Credit System, serving as vice president of the Farm Credit Bank of Texas and the first woman to serve as director of the Farm Credit System Insurance Corporation. A lifelong advocate for farmers, ranchers, and rural America, Martin spent more than 30 years working in agriculture and agricultural finance. Each year, Texas Farm Credit is pleased to continue her legacy by offering postsecondary scholarships in Martin's name to future agricultural leaders. Texas Farm Credit awards five, one-time scholarships in the amount of \$2,000.

#### TO QUALIFY FOR TEXAS FARM CREDIT'S MARSHA MARTIN SCHOLARSHIP, ALL APPLICANTS:

- 1. Must pursue an *agricultural related degree* (agricultural business, animal science, agricultural economics, etc.).
- 2. Reside inside of Texas Farm Credit's 100-County Territory (see map).
- 3. Be nominated by a school guidance counselor, teacher, or administrator.
- 4. Be a senior scheduled to graduate high school in 2016.
- 5. Be accepted to a junior college, community college, or four-year university.
- 6. Submit a completed *16<sup>th</sup>* Annual Texas Farm Credit scholarship application (2016).
- 7. Submit a current high school transcript.
- 8. Submit a one-page typed essay on "How agriculture has impacted my life".

\*\*Additional information may accompany the application (bios, resumes, etc.)
\*\*Children of employees or directors of Texas Farm Credit are not eligible

DEADLINE FOR COMPLETED APPLICATIONS IS 4PM ON TUESDAY, MARCH 1, 2016 INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED

#### There are (3) convenient ways to submit your scholarship application:

In Person:	E-Mail: (preferred method)	Fax:
Drop off your completed	scholarships@texasfcs.com	(888) 650-8001
application package at your local		Attn: Scholarship Committee
Texas Farm Credit branch		



## 16<sup>th</sup> Annual Marsha Martin Scholarship Program Application (2016)

Name:			
Address:	City:	Zip:	
County of Residence:			
Phone #:	Email:		
High School Attending:	GPA:	out of	
SAT Score:	or ACT Score:		
College/University:			
Applied/Accepted: (circle one) Agri	icultural Degree Pursuing:		
Nominated by (Print Name):			
Circle one: Counselor/Teacher/	Administrator		
Signature of Counselor/Teacher/	Administrator:		
List Major Accomplishments/ Awa typed pages.)	ards Received: (If more room is need	ed, please attach additional	

Deadline for completed applications is 4pm on Tuesday, March 1, 2016

# Incomplete applications will not be accepted

In Person:	E-Mail: (preferred method)	<u>Fax:</u>
Drop off your completed	scholarships@texasfcs.com	(888) 650-8001
application package at your local Texas Farm Credit branch		Attn: Scholarship Committee

				TEXAS FARM CREDIT
				Cooke Grayson Bonham Denton Collin Hunt Denton Collin Hunt Denton Dallas Wood Upphur Marign
				Kaufman Van Zandt Tyler Gregg Harrison Henderson Smith Athenson Ope Rusk Panola In Henderson Smith Rusk Panola Nacogdothes Nac
		~	Val Verde Kinne	Real Bandera Bandera Uvalde Uvalde Medina Uvalde Austin Bexar Gonzales Lavaca Medina Uvalde Austin Chambers Lavaca Medina Austin Chambers Lavaca Medina Austin Chambers Lavaca Medina Austin Chambers Lavaca Medina Austin Chambers Lavaca Medin
ANDERSON ANGELINA ARANSAS ATASCOSA AUSTIN BANDERA BEE BEXAR BOWIE BROOKS CAMERON CAMP CASS CHAMBERS CHEROKEE	FAYETTE FRANKLIN FREESTONE FRIO GOLIAD GONZALES GRAYSON GREGG GUADALUPE HARDIN HARRISON HENDERSON HIDALGO HOPKINS HOUSTON	KLEBERG LAMAR LASALLE LAVACA LEE LEON LIBERTY LIMESTONE LIVE OAK MARION MAVERICK MCMULLEN MEDINA MONTGOMERY MORRIS	ROCKWALL RUSK SABINE SAN AUGUSTINE SAN JACINTO SAN PATRICIO SHELBY SMITH STARR TITUS TRINITY TYLER UPSHUR UVALDE VAL VERDE	Dimmit La Salle Webb Uuval Hebbronville Kleberg Brooks Kenedy San Patricio Nueces Robstown Restruction Kleberg Brooks Kenedy Weslaco Cameron
COLLIN COOKE DALLAS DELTA DENTON DEWITT DIMMIT DUVAL EDWARDS FANNIN	HUNT JASPER JEFFERSON JIM HOGG JIM WELLS KARNES KAUFMAN KENEDY KERR KINNEY	NACOGDOCHES NEWTON NUECES ORANGE PANOLA POLK RAINS REAL RED RIVER REFUGIO	VAN ZANDT WALKER WALLER WASHINGTON WEBB WILLACY WILSON WOOD ZAPATA ZAVALA	Serving 100 Texas Counties TexasFCS.com   800-950-8563