

An Organizational meeting of the Lethbridge Public Library Board was held at 5:30 pm Wednesday, January 14, 2015 in the Community Meeting Room at the Lethbridge Public Library.

| Present from the Board: | V. Mensch, B. Mearns, I. Franks, R. Higgins, E. Olson, Linda |
|------------------------------|--|
| | Erickson, Ross Djuve, R. Cooney |
| Regrets: | John Carstairs, Tom Moffat |
| Present from Administration: | T. Vanden Heuvel <i>(CEO)</i> |
| | E. Hegerat (Associate Director: Service Development) |
| | D. Charlesworth (Manager: Corporate Services) |
| | Lisa Weekes (Manager: Information Services |
| Recording Secretary: | Kat Short (Executive Assistant) |

1. CALL TO ORDER

T. Vanden Heuvel called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. INTRODUCTION OF NEW MEMBERS

2.1 <u>New Trustee Appointments</u>

T. Vanden Heuvel announced the appointment of new Trustees: Bridget Mearns, Linda Erickson and Tom Moffat

2.2 <u>Reappointments</u>

T. Vanden Heuvel confirmed the reappointments of Trustee: John Carstairs

2.3 <u>Roundtable introduction of all Trustees and Administration</u>

3. REPORT FROM NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE – NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIR

3.1 Election of Chair

The CEO called on the Nominations Committee for the nominations report for the position of Board Chair for the 2015 term of office. Tony Vanden Heuvel stated that V. Mensch allowed his name to stand. He then asked for nominations from the floor a first time, a second time, and a third time. As there were no further nominations for the position, Vic Mensch was acclaimed Board Chair.

V. Mensch assumed the chair for the remainder of the Organizational Meeting.



4. REPORT FROM THE NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE – NOMINATIONS FOR VICE-CHAIR

4.1 <u>Election of Vice-Chair</u>

The Chair called on the Nominations Committee for the nominations report for the position of Vice-Chair for the 2014 term of office. M. Watson stated that trustees B. Higgins, J. Carstairs and B. Cooney had let their names stand for Vice-Chair. The Chair asked for nominations from the floor a first time. B. Cooney rescinded his interest in Vice-Chair as B. Higgins had more history with the Board. The Chair asked for nominations from the floor a second time and a third time. Trustees voted and Bob Higgins was named Vice-Chair.

5. NAMING OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

5.1 <u>Board/Director Relations Committee (Chair and Vice-Chair)</u>

As recognized by procedure, the Chair and Vice Chair, V. Mensch and B. Higgins, become members of the Board/Director Relations Committee.

5.2 <u>Governance Committee</u>

J. Carstairs, E. Olson will represent the Library Governance Committee

5.3 Library Advancement Committee

R. Cooney, L. Erickson will represent the Library Advancement Committee.

5.4 <u>Strategic Planning Committee</u>

I. Franks and T. Moffatt will represent the Strategic Planning Committee.

5.5 <u>Finance Committee</u>

E. Olson, R. Djuve and V. Mensch will represent the Library Finance Committee.

The Board Chair, CEO and City Council representative also sit on all committees *ex officio*.

6. COMMITTEES MET TO SET COMMITTEE SCHEDULES FOR THE 2015 YEAR

- Library Advancement Committee
 - Meeting at lunch as needed on the third Wednesday of the month, minimum of four meetings per year
- Strategic Planning Committee



MINUTES Organizational Board Meeting January 14, 2015

- Meeting at lunch as needed on the first Thursday of the month, minimum of four meetings per year
- Board/Director Relations Committee Monday lunch prior to board meeting
- Governance as required
- Finance Committee first Wednesday of the month at 5:30

7. COMMITTEE REVIEW OF 2014 PROPOSED TERMS OF REFERENCE AND GOALS AND OBJECTIVES

Moved by B. Cooney and seconded by E. Olson that the Board accept the Terms of Reference as presented

CARRIED

8. LPL EXTERNAL APPOINTMENTS

- 8.1 Chinook Arch Regional Library Board
 - 8.1.1. B. Cooney will represent the Board
- 8.2 Friends of the Library
 - 8.2.1. R. Djuve will represent the Board

9. OTHER ORGANIZATIONAL BUSINESS

10. ADJOURNMENT

MOVED by I. Franks that the meeting be adjourned at 5:59 p.m.

CARRIED

Chair:

Trustee: