

Association





2011 Masters **Tournament**

USBC Certified



2010 Champion Eddie Grace III

Held at: **Astro Lanes** 32388 John R. Rd. Madison Hts., MI 48071 (248) 585-3132

Operated by: Metro Detroit USBC Association 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076 (888) 753-6350

Sponsors:	Turbo 2-N-1 Grips, Ansara's Big Boy Restaurants, Red Robin Restaurants						
Date: Qualifying: January		nuary 22-23, 2011 Mat	ch Play: Janua	ry 29-30, 2011			
Time: Format:	Squad "1" bowls January 22 @ 9 a.m. & January 23 @ 12 p.m. Squad "2" bowls January 22 @ 12 p.m. & January 23 @ 9 a.m. Each bowler shall bowl 10 games in two days for qualifying. The top 31 will join the defending champion in three-game double elimination matches.						
Awards:	First place \$4,000, second place \$2,000 based on 140 entries. 32nd place \$225. Top four non-cashing seniors 50 and over will receive \$150.						
Cost:	\$150 (\$120 prize fee, \$30 lineage & expenses). Fee \$140 if paid before December 13, 2010 Checks made payable to MDUSBC. Visa/MC/Discover accepted.						
Deadline:	January 22, 2011 unless filled earlier. Tournament is limited to 160 entries.						
Name				ID#			
Address _				Phone			
City, State	e, Zip						
Circle Squad Squad 1 "1" 1/22 - 9 a.m. & 1/23 - 12 p.m. "2" 1/22 - 12 p.m. & 1/23 - 9 a.m.							
Visa/MasterCard/Discover #:				Exp. Date:			
Name & A	Address of pers	on on card:					
Mail entries with fee to: Clear Form		Metro Detroit USBC Attn: Masters Tournamer 28200 Southfield Rd. Lathrup Village, MI 48076	nt				

Sharpen your skills with this special offer from Turbo Tech



Receive 10% off any lesson at Turbo Tech from Dec. 1, 2010 - Jan. 31, 2011.

Turbo is proud to welcome Silver USBC Coach and PBA Tour Champion, Bob Learn Jr., to our coaching and sales team. Reserve a lesson today with Bob or Gold Coach, Lou Marquez, by calling 800-530-9878. All lessons are by appointment only. Team and group lessons available.

_____Turbo Tech...Training Tomorrow's Bowlers Today RULES & REGULATIONS - MASTERS TOURNAMENT

- 1. This is an individual match game event open to all certified members of the Metro Detroit USBC who bowled 21 games or more in the Metro Detroit USBC Association the previous season or MDUSBC members with 21 games or more in the current season in any given league in the MDUSBC as of first day of qualifying. Members of another association can become members and bowl by paying the local association fee of \$8 and meeting the eligibility requirements set forth above. If a bowler resides within the boundaries of the MDUSBC and is not bowling in any league this season, they may purchase an affiliate card for \$19.00 and be eligible to bowl in the tournament provided they meet the eligibility requirements set forth above.
- 2. The tournament is limited to the first 160 bowlers with 32 bowlers qualifying for head to head matches. The defending champion will be seeded 9th into the match play competition, unless they qualify in a higher position which is where they would be seeded but must pay for and bowl in qualifying rounds to be eligible.
- 3. In qualifying rounds, bowlers will draw for lanes on Saturday and will bowl 10 games across 20 lanes over two days moving after each game.
- 4. If there is a breakdown and an unreasonable delay, tournament manager can authorize reasonable practice. If there is a breakdown tournament manager can reassign bowlers.
- 5. In the case of a tie for 32nd place or alternate position, one additional game will be bowled by those bowlers tied. The bowlers will draw for starting lanes and the bowler with the odd lane will start the roll-off. If a tie exists after the one game rolloff a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 6. Failure of any bowler to be available in case of a tie will constitute a forfeit. In the event of a tie for any other position, the player with the high game in qualifying round will be placed in the higher position. Should a tie still exist, then next highest qualifying game will be used. FIRST ALTERNATE MUST BE PRESENT AT THE START OF HEAD TO HEAD MATCHES TO BE ELIGIBLE TO RECEIVE THEIR PRIZE.
- 7. If a bowler is unable to appear for the first round of match play, an alternate will be given the opportunity to replace them in the schedule. Such alternate or alternates will be the next highest participant from the qualifying round.
- 8. After the first round NO SUBSTITUTES WILL BE PERMITTED.
- Non-appearance, regardless of cause, will constitute forfeiture of the match and the player present will bowl their game without
 opposition to advance to succeeding round. If the forfeiture occurs in the WINNERS BRACKET, the absent bowler automatically goes
 in to the proper position in the LOSERS BRACKET.
- 10. Bowlers must lose two matches to be eliminated from the tournament.
- 11. Each match will be over three games, total pins determine the winner. Pairings for the initial round of 16 matches will be based on the finish of the contestants in qualifying rounds, 1-32, 2-31, etc. Pairings will continue on a bracket system, which will be on display at tournament counter. Eight competitors (4 in winner's bracket and 4 in loser's bracket) will return the following Saturday to complete the event.
- 12. In match play only one player assigned to a lane. The order of bowling will be according to match game procedure with the bowler on the odd lane starting first. Bowlers start the first game of the series on the lane assigned. Succeeding games will be started on the lane where the tenth frame of the preceding game was bowled.
- 13. If a match ends in a tie, a 9th and 10th frame rolloff will be conducted. Bowlers will begin the rolloff on the lane on which the bowler finished the previous game. As in all other games, the bowler on the odd lane will start.
- 14. Dress code enforced by Masters Committee. No jeans, hats or shorts to be worn during competition.
- 15. Tournament management will correct obvious errors, including math errors, in accordance with USBC Rule 327b.
- 16. NOTE: Bowling balls of qualifiers must be checked upon request from tournament officials that such equipment be checked. All balls used must be recorded on the bowler's score sheet for all competitors. Any bowler having a ball not in compliance with USBC specifications will be disqualified.

PAST CHAMPIONS

1964 - Sal Timpa	1974 - Dick Beattie	1984 - David Chappell	1994 - Gene Stus	2004 - Mark Moore
1965 - Bill Fite	1975 - Pat Iannucci	1985 - Mike Clemence	1995 - Tony DaDeppo	2005 - Jeff Austreng
1966 - Ted Bakatselos	1976 - Pat Iannucci	1986 - Ron Matney	1996 - Vernon Peterson	2006 - Dave Ewald
1967 - Bob Crawford	1977 - John Bennett	1987 - Ken Lang	1997 - Ken Kossick	2007 - Jeff Austreng
1968 - Bob Kwolek	1978 - Fred McClain	1988 - Dave Tulak	1998 - Doug Evans	2008 - Kerry Kreft
1969 - Dick Lang	1979 - Bob Strampe	1989 - Jerry Penxa	1999 - Joe Krajenke	2009 - Paul Koehler
1970 - Bill Spargo	1980 - Dick Beattie	1990 - Bob Chamberlain	2000 - Chris Sand	2010 - Eddie Grace III
1971 - Mike Samardzija	1981 - Dick Beattie	1991 - Mike Clemence	2001 - Mark Moore	
1972 - Jack Treloar	1982 - Bob Goike	1992 - Quintin Greene	2002 - Ken Kossick	
1973 - Roger Thorpe	1983 - Bob Stempien	1993 - Terry Dockery	2003 - Mark Moore	