AGM/COCKTAIL FUNCTION PORT ELIZABETH



- NOTICE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
- **<u>TIME</u>** 17:00 (5 pm) Sharp!
- DATE MONDAY, 12 MAY 2014

VENUE ELIZABETH PLACE, 1ST FLOOR, PICKERING PARK, PICKERING STREET, NEWTON PARK

G B STEELE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

AGENDA

- **1. NOTICE CONVENING THE MEETING**
- 2. PRESENT AND APOLOGIES
- 3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF AGM 7 MAY 2013

4. APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The Executive Committee will be elected in the following ratio by their respective Panels for the ensuing year. Present incumbents are:

Builders' Panel (12) M Cawse H Claasen C de Lauwere C Gray C Howes E Niewoudt G Smith E Smith B Scholtz J S Strydom J-M Talbot A H van Jaarsveldt L van Rensburg Subcontractors' Panel (8) S Bentley R Dowding W Lategan P Rademeyer A Scott L Smith A J van Jaarsveldt A Venter Associates' Panel (4) C Carthew W Collier C Campbell I Munsamy

5. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

Mr C de Lauwere and B Scholtz have served as Chairman and Vice, respectively, for one year.

6. GENERAL

Members may raise items which will be dealt with at the discretion of the Chairman.

*NB:

- Nominations in terms of items 4 & 5 above to be received by the Director in writing by Friday, 9 May 2014.
- Nomination Forms are available from the MBA upon request.
- The AGM will be followed by a Cocktail Function.

EAST CAPE MASTER BUILDERS' AND ALLIED INDUSTRIES ASSOCIATION P O Box 7086, Newton Park, Port Elizabeth 6055, South Africa

BORDER KEI 1ST Floor, Pilot Mill House The Quarry, Selborne East London 5201, South Africa Tel. +27 (0)43 721 0159 Fax. +27 (0)43 721 0593 PORT ELIZABETH 82 Worraker Street, Newton Park Port Elizabeth 6045, South Africa Tel. +27 (0)41 365 1835 Fax. +27(0)41 364 1676 SOUTHERN CAPE 13 Doneraile Street George 6530, South Africa Tel. +27 (0)44 873 3356 Fax. +27 (0)44 874 7738

Email: ecmba@global.co.za Web: www.ecmba.org.za

PRIVATE AND CONFIDENTIAL

Minutes of the ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING of the PORT ELIZABETH BRANCH held at ELIZABETH PLACE, PICKERING STREET, NEWTON PARK, PORT ELIZABETH at 17:00 on TUESDAY, 7 MAY 2013

Members as per the attendance register PRESENT:

IN ATTENDANCE: G B Steele, MBA Executive Director G M Andrews, Branch Manager C Townsend, Training Manager G Olivier, IR and Health & Safety Manager

1. NOTICE CONVENING THE MEETING:

The Vice-chairman, Mr Chris de Lauwere in the chair referred to the notice convening the Annual General Meeting of the Port Elizabeth Branch of the MBA and welcomed all present.

The notice convening the meeting was taken as **READ.**

2. **PRESENT AND APOLOGIES**

Apologies were received from Mr Neil Evans, Ms. Zelda du Preez, Mr Laurie van Huysteen, Mr S Cunningham.

The Chairman noted that the meeting was duly constituted.

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF AGM: 23 APRIL 2012 3.

The Chairman proposed confirmation of the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 23 April 2012 that had been distributed with the notice.

Acceptance of the minutes proposed by Mr Jean-Marie Talbot was seconded by Mr Shaun Bentley.

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting were therefore **APPROVED** and **SIGNED** by the Chairman as a true record of the proceedings

4. **DIRECTOR'S REPORT**

The report presented by the Director is attached to the minutes as

5. **APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE**

The Vice-Chairman handed the meeting over to the Executive Director Mr G Steele for the elections. The Director noted that the closing date for nominations was by Friday the 3rd of May 2013 and announced the names of members nominated to serve on the Executive Committee of the Port Elizabeth branch for the following year.

The Director therefore declared and it was agreed that the following members be elected to represent their respective panels on the Executive Committee of the Port Elizabeth branch for the forthcoming year.

Builders' Panel (12) M Cawse H Claasen C de Lauwere C Gray P Rademeyer C Howes E Niewoudt G Smith E Smith A Venter B Scholtz J S Strydom J-M Talbot A H van Jaarsveldt	Subcontractors' Panel (8) S Bentley R Dowding W Lategan I Munsamy A Scott L Smith A J van Jaarsveldt
A H van Jaarsveldt L van Rensburg	
L Vall Kensburg	

Associates' Panel (4) C Carthew W Collier C Campbell

Addendum 1

The Director noted that the Executive Committee had co-opted the following members and alternates from sub branches; Mr N. Heunis and Mr T. Dold and Mr M. van Zyl as alternates for Grahamstown, Mr B Knight and Mr M Crookshank as alternate for Port Alfred.

6. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS

The Director announced that nomination had been received for Mr C de Lauwere to succeed to the chair and that he had accepted. He announced further that nomination for Mr B Scholtz of SBT Konstruksie had been received for office of Vice-Chairman and that he had accepted. Their nomination was proposed by Mr C. Gray and seconded by Mr D. Catherine. The Director reported for the record that there were no further nominations. It was **AGREED**

that Mr C. de Lauwere be elected as branch Chairman and Mr B. Scholtz be elected as branch Vice-Chairman for the forthcoming year.

The Chairman took the opportunity to thank members for attending and particularly the Executive Committee for the support that he had received over the two years as Vice-Chairman

With no further business the meeting ended.

CHAIRMAN

DATE