STATE OF TEXAS COUNTIES OF POTTER AND RANDALL CITY OF AMARILLO

On the 23rd day of February 2010, the Amarillo City Commission met at 5:00 p.m. at City Hall on the third floor in Room 303 in the Conference Room to review agenda items for the regular meeting.

The City Commission met at 6:00 p.m. in regular session in the Commission Chamber located on the third floor of City Hall at 509 E. 7th Avenue, with the following members present:

DEBRA MCCARTT	MAYOR
MADISON SCOTT	COMMISSIONER NO. 1
BRIAN J. EADES	COMMISSIONER NO. 2
RONALD BOYD	COMMISSIONER NO. 3
JIM SIMMS	COMMISSIONER NO. 4

Absent was none. Also in attendance were the following administrative officials:

ALAN M. TAYLOR	CITY MANAGER
JARRETT ATKINSON	DEPUTY CITY MANAGER
MARCUS NORRIS	CITY ATTORNEY
KELLEY SHAW	PLANNING DIRECTOR
DONNA DERIGHT	CITY SECRETARY

The invocation was given by Davlyn Duesterhaus, Baptist St. Anthony's Health Systems.

Mayor McCartt established a quorum, called the meeting to order, welcomed those in attendance, and the following items of business were conducted:

<u>ITEM 1</u>: Mayor McCartt presented the minutes of the regular meeting held February 16, 2010. Motion was made by Commissioner Simms, seconded by Commissioner Boyd, and unanimously carried, to approve the minutes.

<u>ITEM 2</u>: Mayor McCartt presented an ordinance amending Chapter 10-3, Miscellaneous Offenses, of the Amarillo Municipal Code to re-adopt a nocturnal (midnight and after) juvenile curfew for persons under the age of seventeen years. The City Commission last adopted a juvenile curfew in March 2007. Per state law, a juvenile curfew must be reviewed and re-adopted every three years. The re-adoption of this curfew is recommended by the Amarillo Police Department and is supported by statistics, which reflect a reduction in juvenile curfew violations and juvenile arrests after the hour of midnight. Motion was made by Commissioner Boyd, seconded by Commissioner Eades, that the following captioned ordinance be passed on first reading: <u>ORDINANCE NO. 7207</u>

AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF AMARILLO: RE-ADOPTING AND CONTINUING CHAPTER 10-3, ARTICLE VI, SECTIONS 10-3-71 THROUGH 10-3-75, INCLUSIVE OF THE AMARILLO MUNICIPAL CODE, WITHOUT CHANGE; PROVIDING FOR A NOCTURNAL CURFEW (STARTING AT MIDNIGHT) FOR PERSONS UNDER 17 YEARS OF AGE; DEFINING OFFENSES; PROVIDING DEFENSES; PROVIDING A CUMULATIVE REMEDY CLAUSE; PROVIDING SAVINGS AND SEVERABILITY CLAUSES; PROVIDING A REPEALER CLAUSE; PROVIDING FOR PENALTIES AND AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

Voting AYE were Mayor McCartt, Commissioners Scott, Eades, Boyd and Simms; voting NO were none; the motion carried by a 5:0 vote of the Commission.

<u>ITEM 3</u>: Mayor McCartt presented a resolution approving and authorizing the submission of a grant funding application to the Criminal Justice Division of the Texas Governor's Office (CJD) for the acquisition of a police canine and an associated vehicle, equipment and training expenses. The acquisition of this canine will allow the Amarillo Police Department to employ three K-9 units for law enforcement duties. This grant application is for \$68,530.00 and requires 50% City of Amarillo matching funds. Motion was made by Commissioner Eades, seconded by Commissioner Scott, that the following captioned resolution be passed:

RESOLUTION NO. 2-23-10-1

A RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COMMISSION OF THE CITY OF AMARILLO, TEXAS: K-9 GRANT APPLICATION (GOVERNOR'S OFFICE, CRIMINAL JUSTICE DIVISION #2365201) FOR FISCAL YEAR 2009/2010; PROVIDING SEVERABILITY CLAUSE; PROVIDING SAVINGS CLAUSE AND EFFECTIVE DATE.

Voting AYE were Mayor McCartt, Commissioners Scott, Eades, Boyd and Simms; voting NO were none; the motion carried by a 5:0 vote of the Commission.

ITEM 4: Mayor McCartt advised that appointments are needed for certain boards and commissions. Motion was made by Commissioner Scott, seconded by Commissioner Simms, and unanimously carried, to the Advisory Commission for People with Disabilities reappoint Hilda Easley and Myrtle Hodge, such terms to expire March 1, 2013, to the Amarillo Economic Development Corporation reappoint Eddie Bradley and Brad Martin, such terms to expire March 31, 2013, to the Bi-City County Public Health Board reappoint Kevin Hawkins, such term to expire January 31, 2013, to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #1 Board of Directors reappoint Richard Brown and Paul Harpole, such terms to expire March 20, 2013, and to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #1 Board Directors reappoint Richard Brown as Chairman, such term to expire March 20, 2011.

Mayor McCartt announced that this is the end of the regular agenda, but time is reserved to hear any citizen concerning matters pertaining to City policies, programs or services. Members of Boy Scout Troop 87 were present with questions and comments for the Commission. David Cornelsen, 6610 Foothill Drive, and Rick Lovato, 6204 Woodward, appeared with issues and concerns about the new sign ordinance. There were no further comments. Mayor McCartt announced that the meeting was adjourned and the Commission would reconvene to Executive Session.

ATTEST:

Donna DeRight, City Secretary

Debra McCartt, Mayor