VILLAGE OF CARPENTERSVILLE FIRE AND POLICE COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES MARCH 10, 2015 5:30 p.m.

Attendance: Commissioners Jim DeLong, Louis Lara, and Morgan Bergquist, Public Safety Director Alan Popp and Deputy Fire Chief John Skillman

Meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

A motion was made by Commissioner Bergquist to approve the minutes of October 7, 2014, the Special meeting minutes of October 21, 2014 and the Special Meeting Minutes of January 20, 2014. A second was provided by Commissioner Lara. The motion carried by unanimous voice vote.

Old Business:

Police - List Establishment Update

It was reported that 20 applications have been received as of t his date.

A motion was made by Commissioner Lara to approve the 2015 Board of Fire and Police Commissioners meeting schedule as presented. A second was provided by Commissioner Bergquist. The motion carried by voice unanimous vote.

Probationary Police Officer Update

Director Popp reported that probationary Officer Hailer is in the shadow phase of the field training program. Officer Abrahamsen will be graduation on March 27, 2015 from the academy. Fluhler's background investigation has concluded and he will be starting the academy on March 30, 2015.

Probationary Firefighter Update

It was reported that probationary Firefighter Sutfin is doing well. Leahy will be sworn in at the March 17, 2015 Village Board Meeting.

New Business:

Establishment of a New Firefighter List

Deputy Fire Chief Skillman reported on IOS, a public safety consulting firm who specialized in recruitment and testing. A discussion ensued.

Fire and Police Commission Meeting Minutes March 10, 2015 Page 2

A motion was made by Commissioner Bergquist to move forward and hire IOS for the recruitment and testing of firefighters. A second was provided by Commissioner Lara. The motion carried by voice unanimous vote.

Other Business

Fire Deputy Chief Skillman discussed the scoring on the Lieutenants test.

Adjournment:

Meeting adjourned at 6:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Oneida Fehring Recording Secretary

James W. DeLong, Jr., Chairperson

Louis Lara, Commissioner

A. Morgan Bergquist, Commissioner